Life’s Too Short

My father, a wise octogenarian, didn’t coin the phrase “Life’s too short.” However, my dad certainly adopted it and made those words part of the fabric of my life. My dad’s use of those three short words often become part of any conversation when something has gone wrong with relationships, employment, and plans; as well as the appearance of unexpected issues, situations, and needs. He firmly believes relationships are too valuable to squander because “Life’s too short.” For the same reason, he contends that no job, regardless of the number of zeros, is worth unacceptable stress, worry, or disappointment. He believes a person is better off happily poor, than wealthy and miserable. His continual use of the expression, and its meaning, has become increasingly tangible to me as time passes. Those words are also extremely relevant as I consider them in the context of my experiences with a company that negatively impacted my well-being.

Toxicity in the Workplace

I very much wish I’d taken my dad’s admonishments to heart during the time I was associated with that dysfunctional, self-aggrandizing corporate entity. My decision to remain with the company because of my friendship with the majority owner, and the handsome paycheck, was a huge error. The resulting issues were wholly unpredictable to me. It was a toxic work environment where narcissistic manipulation was commonplace and “energy vampires” were everywhere. Truth and comity were often absent. Few took responsibility for their actions. Passive aggression at the highest levels destroyed self-confidence and hampered both production and trust. More than a few empire builders on staff were willing to destroy others in their selfish ladder-climbing quests for power and prestige. Two such individuals, with serious insecurity issues, made my life particularly miserable. One was a towering tree who carried a gun and threatened me on multiple occasions. On one such occasion he threatened me with his firearm. Where was the business owner during those years? Present, but disconnected. An appeaser who chose to ignore underlying issues and ongoing victimization. That added to workplace stress. In retrospect? “Life’s too short.” My health and peace of mind would have been served well if I’d extricated myself from that untenable situation far sooner.

The Lesson

We should all consider the wisdom and love behind the reminder that “Life’s too short,” when those words are shared by loved ones or close friends who truly care about our well-being. Indeed, life is too short. Workplace stressors can undermine emotional stability, aggravate existing physical and mental issues, result in cardiovascular damage and digestive disorders; as well as create relationship issues outside the workplace. Dietary changes will often occur and many turn to alcohol and other mind numbing escapes. Eating disorders and financial problems will often follow. Stressors can be associated with temperature, lighting, sound, smells, proximity to others, etc…  Physical and mental stresses: Influences involving harmful chemicals, drugs, and alcohol.

Steps to Solving Stress Problems

The first logical step is to extricate oneself, where and when possible, from stress inducing people, places, and things. Second, seek spiritual relief. Third, seek direction from trusted family, friends, and associates. Finally, become familiar with options to better your life. Doing these steps will help you to discover a better life path to follow. Featured photo credit: Josue Bieri via unsplash.com