I sent Chris my two Short 7 Lists for new managers, and I thought I’d share them with you too. I just got a job as an intern. I’m pretty excited about it, for this company is growing like crazy, and they are known to give their graduating interns terrific opportunities if they’ve done well within their program. I’m hoping this will segue into my first management job when the term is over. The manager I report to, clued me in to the fact that learning is highly valued here. In your book, you’re pretty passionate about learning too: What kinds of things do you think I should include in my list of things to learn while in my internship? I’d appreciate hearing of your thoughts. Sincerely, Chris The Business List The Managing People List Will Chris have more to learn? Sure. Lots more. But I believe that concentrating on these things first, in an internship sure to seem very short, will serve him well. He will learn more than he can now even imagine. What were your most noteworthy lessons learned when you were a new manager?

Joyful, Jubilant Learning: 64 Ways and Counting. 5 Things Employees Need to Learn—From You. Think “Learning” For a Better Budget. Learning to Listen? Learn What to Listen FOR.

Rosa Say is the author of Managing with Aloha, Bringing Hawaii’s Universal Values to the Art of Business and the Talking Story blog. She is the founder and head coach of Say Leadership Coaching, a company dedicated to bringing nobility to the working arts of management and leadership. For more of her ideas, click to her Thursday columns in the archives; you’ll find her index in the left column of www.ManagingWithAloha.com Rosa’s Previous Thursday Column was: POP² Management.